Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to this research guide designed to link visitors to the CRRA website to information about African American Roman Catholics. It will point the user to books and other materials in the Catholic Portal, and will directly link to relevant special collections, both print and electronic, avallable on the Internet. We hope you will find this guide useful.
Photo of Augustine Tolton, the first African American priest
Black Bishops of the United States
American Catholic History Classroom
from Catholic University of America
National Office of Black Catholics
The archives for this important African American Catholic organization is housed at a non-CRRA institution. We are providing a link to the collection because of its importance to the topic.
Collections from CRRA Institutions
African American Affairs (United States Conference of Catholic Bishops)
The Subcommittee on African American Affairs (SCAAA) is the official voice of the African American Catholic community. The subcommittee attends to the needs and aspirations of African American Catholics regarding issues of pastoral ministry, evangelization, social justice, worship, development of leaders and other areas of concern.
African American Catholics in the United States (Marquette University)
African American Catholics of the United States contains over 200 images of African American clergy, religious, and laity, plus others in ministry to them, in parishes and schools, religious communities, and lay organizations since 1900.
Black & Indian Mission Office
The Black and Indian Mission Office is comprised of three distinct but inter-related organizations, each with its own purpose and history, but all seeking to fulfill the one Mission to the Missions! Founded by the Catholic bishops of the United States, each organization cooperates with local diocesan communities to spread the Good News of Jesus Christ and respond to real and pressing needs on the ground.
Catholic Negro-American Mission Board Records
Records of the three agencies of the Black and Indian Mission Office -- the Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions, the Black and Indian Mission Collection (Commission for Catholic Missions among Colored People and Indians) and The Catholic Negro-American Mission Board (Catholic Board for Mission Work among Colored People), which support Catholic evangelization in the United States and dependent territories for African Americans and Native Americans.
National Black Catholic Congress
The National Black Catholic Congress, comprised of member organizations, represents African American Roman Catholics, working collaborating with National Roman Catholic organizations.
National Black Sisters Conference Records
The National Black Sisters' Conference (NBSC) was established in 1968 to educate, support, and communicate to African American women religious. Sister Martin de Porres Grey, R.S.M., organized the first meeting and was elected president.
While confronting racism in society and the Catholic Church, its mission has been to foster:Education and support of African American sisters toward effective ministry;
Education toward community control of African American communities;Training in community organization and development;
Development of religious education from an African American perspective; Development of African American spirituality; Identification of African American sisters throughout the United States
National Catholic Conference for Interracial Justice
Records of the national federation of Catholic human relations agencies and interracial councils, founded in 1960 following the U.S. Catholic bishops' statement on racial discrimination and segregation.
Records of the Catholic Interracial Council of New York
The CICNY Records contains correspondence, pamphlets, meeting minutes, article drafts, reports, photographs, ephemera, and clippings that span 1921 to 1975. The materials from 1921 to 1933 relate to the Cardinal Gibbons Institute and the materials from 1934 to 1975 document CICNY offices and activities. The CICNY continued to function into the late 1990s, but the collection does not document its last 25 years.
Search the Catholic Portal
Click a link below to find all items under that subject heading in the Catholic Portal.
Jesuits of the USA Central & Southern Provinces
Much of the information included in this research guide is taken from a "Collection Highlights" article by Rose Fortier from the Winter 2015 CRRA Newsletter. Thanks, Rose.