Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All the texts on this page are standard sources and it is likely that most libraries supporting Catholic Studies will own one or more of them. Check you local library catalog for availability.
Vatican II: A Bibliography.
Edited by Charles Dollen.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1969.
A listing of books and journal articles published during and immediately after the Council. No annotations.
There are a number of other similar archival collections of the papers of bishops or periti who attended the Council. Some of these have published inventories:
Inventaire des Archives conciliaires du Fonds Paul-Emile Léger.
Edited by Pierre Lafontaine.
Outremont, QC: Editions des Partenaires, 1995.
Cardinal Léger, Archbishop of Montréal during the Council, was also a member of the Central Commission for the Council. This work is an inventory of the publications he collected which are now available in the library of the Grand Séminaire de Montréal. The work is particularly useful for determining the textual history of each of the sixteen documents promulgated by the Council.
Concile Vatican II et église contemporaine: Archives de Louvain-la-Neuve.
Louvain-la Neuve: Publications de la Faculté de théologie, 1989-1993. 4 volumes.
Documents pour une histoire du Concile Vatican II: Inventaire du Fonds Pierre Veuillot.
Edited by Jean Robin.
Paris: Institut catholique de Paris, 1998.
Documents pour une histoire du Concile Vatican II: Inventaire du Fonds Achille Liénart.
Edited by Roger Desreumaux.
Paris: Institut catholique de Paris, 1998.
“Recherches et publications récentes autour de Vatican II.” Laval théologique et philosophique.
v. 53 (1997): 435-454
v. 55 (1999): 115-149
v. 56 (2000): 543-583
v. 58 (2002): 177-203
v. 59 (2003): 583-606
v. 60 (2004): 561-577
v. 61 (2005): 613-653
v. 64 (2008): 783-824
v. 67 (2011): 321-373
Every few years since 1997 the journal Laval théologique et philosophique has published a review article listing major recent publications about the Council with extensive annotations. Some articles also include a very brief list of dissertations and important journal articles.
A concordance is an alphabetical list of all the words in a work. It can be used to locate a known passage or to learn how a particular word or concept is used in the documents of the Council.
Concilium Vaticanum II: Concordance, Index, Listes de fréquence, Tables comparatives.
Edited by Philippe Delhaye, Michel Gueret, and Paul Tombeur.
Louvain: CETEDOC, 1974.
A concordance citing the use of each Latin word in context from all the Council documents. Because this work was created by a computer, forms of the same word (e.g. libertas, libertate, libertatem) are listed separately.
Indices verborum et locutionum decretorum Concilii Vatican II.
Bologna: Isitituo per le Scienze religiose di Bologna, 1978.
Each volume of this set cites the use of each Latin word in context from one single Council document (e.g. from Dei verbum). Forms of the same word are listed together under the dictionary form (e.g. capite and capitibus are listed under “caput”).
Index et Concordance: Vatican II.
Edited by H. Tardif and G. Pelloquin.
Collection “Concile et Masses”. Paris: Les Editions Ouvrieres, 1969.
A French-language word-index which cites paragraph numbers.
Dictionary of the Council.
Edited by J. Deretz and A. Nocent.
London: Geoffrey Chapman, 1968.
Paragraph-length excerpts arranged by subject heading. The English edition is a slightly abridged version of the French original (Synopse des Textes Conciliaires, St. Michael’s Reference – BX 830 1962 .A48 D4 1966). There is also a German translation (Konkordanz der Konzils Texte, St. Michael’s 1st Floor Reference Area – BX 830 1962 .A48 K615 1968)
Diccionario del Vaticano II.
2nd edition by Miguel Angel Molina Martinez.
Madrid: Biblioteca de Autores Cristianos, 1969.
Paragraph-length excerpts in Italian arranged by subject heading.
Acta et documenta Concilio Oecumenico Vaticano II apparando.
Vatican City: Typis Polyglottis Vaticanis, 1960-present. 26 volumes.
The records of the commissions which prepared draft documents for the Council. Includes the full-text of submissions from bishops around the world.
History of Vatican II.
Edited by Giuseppe Alberigo.
Maryknoll, NY: Orbis, 1995-2004. 5 volumes.
The definitive history of the Council. Particularly useful for explanations of the organizational structure.