A work from the Ade Bethune Collection at St. Catherine University. Used with the kind permission of the St. Catherine University Archives and Special Collections.
Below is the link to the full CRRA website, as well as the links to other ongoing initiatives of CRRA.
Follow the link below to find digitized Catholic materials beyond those found at CRRA Institutions (though this site does link to some CRRA-member collections)
If you have comments or suggestions that will help make this guide more useful, please email them to Ted Bergfelt, Chair, CRRA Subject Guides Subcommittee, using the following link: Send Email
From the University of Dayton. This collection contains reliquaries holding relics of a number of different saints, as well as the accompanying documentation for many.
Religious Artifacts Collection
From Seton Hall University. Collection contains images of chalices, ciborium, cruets, and other objects from various collections of The Monsignor Field Archives & Special Collections Center.
Religious of the Sacred Heart Postcard Collection
From the University of San Diego. These impressive postcards feature the schools, chapels, convents, and people associated with the Religious of the Sacred Heart, the order of nuns who founded the San Diego College for 16 Women at USD. Also known as the Society of the Sacred Heart, this order is “committed to discovering and making God’s love visible in the heart of the world through the service of education.” The Society was established by St. Madeleine Sophie Barat in 1800 and grew to encompass an international network of schools and universities. These postcards document the growth of the Society from 1912 through the 1960s and include messages from students, friends, and relatives.
Sacred Letters (13th through 19th Centuries)
From the University of St. Mary of the Lake. The University of Saint Mary of the Lake's Sacred Letters Collection comprises more than 300 original letters of various types written by Catholic saints, blesseds, and venerables from the 12th through 19th centuries.
St. Francis Mission Collection
From Marquette University. The St. Francs Mission Digital Image Collection features selected photographs primarily from the Pine Ridge and Rosebud Reservations in South Dakota. The images include community celebrations, religious events, and mission and school activities involving Oglala and Brulé Indians, Jesuits, and Sisters of St. Francis of Penance and Christian Charity.
From Regis University. The Regis University Santo Collection includes over 800 items of southwest religious folk art.
From Duquesne University. The Spiritan Writings Collection at Duquense University makes accessible in one place many of the primary and secondary writings of the Spiritan Congregation.
From the University of Dayton. The Marian stamps in this collection are part of the Marian Library's stamp collection. This collection covers, in comprehensive fashion, the period going from the beginnings in 1920 to the present.
Treasure Chest of Fun and Fact
From the Catholic University of America. A Catholic comic book fondly remembered by generations of parochial school students, published from the mid-1940s to the early 1970s.
From CRRA and Seton Hall University. This is a web exhibit highlighting archival materials and collections documenting women religious from 13 CRRA member and non-member institutions, hosted by Seton Hall University.
United States Catholic Special Collection
From the University of Dayton. The U.S. Catholic Special Collection preserves records of the Catholic Church and Catholic life in the United States. The collection is comprehensive and includes retrospective and contemporary works in different languages, formats, and media, as well as objects used by American Catholics in their religious practice.
Ursuline Convent, Charlestown, Mass., Collection
From Catholic University of America. This collection documents the ministry of the Ursulines of Quebec in Boston area during the years 1833-1903.
From the University of San Diego.
From the University of San Diego.
Vatican City Postcard Collection
From the University of San Diego. This remarkable collection of postcards depicts the Vatican from the earliest years of the twentieth century through the 1960s.
From DePaul University. The texts in this collection, all part of DePaul University’s Vincentian Studies From Collection, are to be those considered the most fundamental and primary to the Vincentian Family. This collection will eventually include the complete extant writings of the Congregation of the Mission’s founder, St. Vincent de Paul; those of the co-founder of the Daughters of Charity, St. Louise de Marillac; and those of the founder of the Sisters of Charity, St. Elizabeth Seton.
From DePaul University. These maps are a part of the Vincentiana Collection at DePaul University Special Collections and Archives. They document the mission, expansion, history and travels of the Vincentians.
From DePaul University. Part of the university's Vincentian Heritage Collections online resources, produced by the University Library with materials and resources from the Office of Mission and Values and the Vincentian Studies Institute research collection, as well as the archives of the Midwest and Western Provinces of the Congregation of the Mission.
From DePaul University. These cards span several centuries and many languages, and show the religious iconography surrounding St. Vincent de Paul, St. Louise de Marillac, and the various religious and lay orders founded by them.
From DePaul University. Spanning 200 years, these postcards reflect the heritage of the religious orders, the growth of social institutions, advancements in technology and changes in urban environments. The images in this collection include institutions such as hospitals, churches and seminaries. Some highlights of the collection are French postcards relevant to St. Vincent's life, the residence of Estelle Doheny who was a patron of the Vincentians, and posed scenes of models acting out the work of Daughters of Charity in France.
Voter Documents of the Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament
From Xavier University of Louisiana. The Voter Documents Collections contains voter registration certificates and poll tax receipts from the Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament who served on the Xavier University of Louisiana campus. The collection spans the years 1929-1952.
Xavier University - Oral History Collection
The Xavier University Oral History Collection contains audio and video interviews with members of the Xavier University of Louisiana Faculty, Staff, & Alumni, as well as members of The Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament, Holy Family Sisters, and The Order of Saint Benedict.
Xavier University Photographs Collection - S.B.S. & Dr. Norman C. Francis
Notable people in this portion of the Xavier University Photographs Collection include: Dr. Norman C. Francis, The Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament, Muhammad Ali, Stevie Wonder, Members of the Morial Family, Maurice "Moon" Landrieu, "Lady Bird" Johnson, Former President George H.W. Bush, and many more.
Xavier University Photographs Collection - Historic Xavier University
This portion of the The Xavier University Photographs Collection contains photographs and documents relating directly to the history of Xavier University of Louisiana, including "Old Xavier" University, Xavier Preparatory, Xavier Students, Campus Visitors, Academics, Sports, Buildings, and Activities dating from the Early 1900s to the 1950s.